This submission provides suggestions on the most suitable boundaries of Federal Electoral Divisions for the Australian Capital Territory. Since the adoption of the Y-plan in 1967, the ACT has adopted a distributed development approach which has strongly encouraged the formation of communities of interest in distinct regions. The most notable of these are Gungahlin, Belconnen, Inner North, Inner South, Molonglo Valley, Woden Valley, Weston Creek, and Tuggeranong.

In addition to these regions, there are three other significant Territory communities of interest that should be considered when performing the electorate redistribution:

  • Stage 1 light rail catchment zone of suburbs running from Gungahlin to Civic
  • “Heritage” Canberra comprising the inner south suburbs of Yarralumla, Deakin, Forrest, Red
    Hill, and Narrabundah
  • “Urbanised” Canberra suburbs that have extensively transitioned to medium-density apartments and townhouses comprising Braddon, Reid, Campbell/Russell, Barton, Kingston,
    and Griffith.

As per the criteria specified in section 66(3)(b) of the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918, our proposed three seat redistribution respects the identity of all these communities as well as
predominantly aligning to the significant geographic features of Barton Highway, Bruce Ridge, Parkes Way, and the Tuggeranong Parkway. Any exceptions to these principles are discussed in the
individual electorate descriptions.

View full submission